It is currently Wed Sep 03, 2014 2:06 am

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 3 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: First game queries
PostPosted: Thu Dec 08, 2011 5:07 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Dec 14, 2010 8:39 pm
Posts: 5
Location: Stratford-upon-Avon
Well, just under a year since ordering the first figures we played our first game the other night - admittedly with old 6mm rather than the shiny (very) new models from last Xmas, but Polemos bases had same frontages etc so worked quite well. We did however have a few issues we thought might be best solved via the all knowing hive-mind after our attempts to read and interpret as best we could at the time. Apologies if these have come up before, I have tried to search first. We did really enjoy the game (despite the following probably making us look very confused!)

The main issue came from one single cvalry engagement early on that as is traditional drew on numerous rules at once...
- All or nothing charge; when it says that all models are elligible to fight, how is that worked out? From the AoNC example a 3 squadron regiment fights with 3 stands of 6. So would you get 1D6 for each stand, then the +6 for charging blade just once for a total of 9d6 because you're only allowed a single principal unit? That's what we went with, although the benefits seemed limited, as with a 2 squadron regiment I only gained one die, whereas if I'd reinforced in bound 2 would have gained +2, admittedly a bound later.
-This charge was against a regiment also lined up one squadron behind the other, so this raised the question of whether the defenders (who failed to countercharge due to 2d6 distance roll) were already reinforced or if they had to wait until the first bound had been fought?
- This led to the front squadron of defenders being routed. With their brigaded mates touching the rear of their base and attackers the front should the routers have squeezed out the side of the sandwich to rout or burst through their friends to the rear?

- The battle plan. It's mentioned and we assumed it was designed to make you move to that and not reactively, however it's never mentioned again, so we weren't wholly sure if/how it needed to be utilised in a 1v1 game.

- 'Units' we decided a horse squadron probably constituted a 'unit' as mentioned in order % and morale, but we couldn't actually find anywhere that said so. Also I had thought a squadron of horse, 6 miniatures on 2 bases, would be 2 'stands' but then the All or Nothing charge refers to 6 model stands which confused me somewhat.

- Horse and dragoons who stand to take a charge, is their any option for them to give fire at the chargers? We couldn't see one, but assumed bullet horse and dragoons would have fired in some capacity similar to foot.

- From what we read horse seeing their mates hacked down to a man in front of them don't need to test morale, only if it's nearby foot, is that right? Also for the commander 'in LOS' +1 to apply we assumed unti had 360 degree LoS and this just applied to other units and terrain blocking view, rather than him having to be ahead of them in arc.

- Charges and alignment. The example of wheeling to charge in the book has the horse missing the enemy if they didn't wheel, so we weren't sure what happened wrt to contacting enemy at an angle. Is it possible and should the units then mutually conform, or is there something about only tidily charging flat edges together?

Apologies for the length of ramble, all help greatly appreciated before we try it again this coming Monday :)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: First game queries
PostPosted: Thu Dec 08, 2011 10:53 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jan 04, 2005 4:22 pm
Posts: 5356
Location: EK,Scotland
All or nothing charge; when it says that all models are elligible to fight, how is that worked out? From the AoNC example a 3 squadron regiment fights with 3 stands of 6. So would you get 1D6 for each stand, then the +6 for charging blade just once for a total of 9d6 because you're only allowed a single principal unit? That's what we went with, although the benefits seemed limited, as with a 2 squadron regiment I only gained one die, whereas if I'd reinforced in bound 2 would have gained +2, admittedly a bound later.
Many players are using the AoNC as the standard Horse operating mode. It was actually written as a coup de grace or battle winning option when a major breakthrough could be made and a bit of weight was needed.
If used as intended (your example below is actually perfect) it gives huge odds in favour of the the attacker. When a tactical opportuity presents itself for a breakthrough it is great. If both sides are using it frequently it burns up regiments and brigades and each cancels the other out.

-This charge was against a regiment also lined up one squadron behind the other, so this raised the question of whether the defenders (who failed to countercharge due to 2d6 distance roll) were already reinforced or if they had to wait until the first bound had been fought?
An AoNC is made on the stationary 1st enemy squadron only. The rear squadron even if touching its front neighbour does not fight. You now have odds of 9:1, that is pretty heavy! The spacing between squadrons in real terms and the fact that the defenders did not countercharge is the reason why only a single squadron fights back.-

This led to the front squadron of defenders being routed. With their brigaded mates touching the rear of their base and attackers the front should the routers have squeezed out the side of the sandwich to rout or burst through their friends to the rear?
They burst through their mates who stand. The victorious chargers now hit the 2nd squadorn but fight on the next turn. This is NOT an AoNC and so the now disordered pursuers have contacted fresh enemy and the original victoms rout away-

The battle plan. It's mentioned and we assumed it was designed to make you move to that and not reactively, however it's never mentioned again, so we weren't wholly sure if/how it needed to be utilised in a 1v1 game.

It is frankly, a safeguard to prevent or neutralize ungentlemanly conduct!-

'Units' we decided a horse squadron probably constituted a 'unit' as mentioned in order % and morale, but we couldn't actually find anywhere that said so. Also I had thought a squadron of horse, 6 miniatures on 2 bases, would be 2 'stands' but then the All or Nothing charge refers to 6 model stands which confused me somewhat.

A squadron is a unit as is a battalion as is a gun. Sorry for the confusion. 6 model stands are in fact 3 squadrons as 2 stands make 1 squadron. Probably thoughtless composition by me.

- Horse and dragoons who stand to take a charge, is their any option for them to give fire at the chargers? We couldn't see one, but assumed bullet horse and dragoons would have fired in some capacity similar to foot.
Their firepower would be negligible in such a situation. Dragoons did not fire mounted (much). There is no shooting capability for Horse/Dragoons taking a charge at the halt.

- From what we read horse seeing their mates hacked down to a man in front of them don't need to test morale, only if it's nearby foot, is that right?

Right. It is assumed that noone really knows exactly WHAT Horse are doing at any given time.. rallying, turning around, repositioning, running, charging etc. So, they are ignored by everyone

Also for the commander 'in LOS' +1 to apply we assumed unti had 360 degree LoS and this just applied to other units and terrain blocking view, rather than him having to be ahead of them in arc.

CORRECT-

Charges and alignment. The example of wheeling to charge in the book has the horse missing the enemy if they didn't wheel, so we weren't sure what happened wrt to contacting enemy at an angle. Is it possible and should the units then mutually conform, or is there something about only tidily charging flat edges together?

No, not about tidily charging flat edges together. Straight line measured from centre of chargin unit to target (anywhere). It is not about the orientation of the target, it is about the chargers moving in a straight line. Chargers never change direction, think about trying to make 300 horses galloping change direction simultaneously. It would look like a motorway pile up. So, manoeuvre is done first.

HOPE THIS HELPS CHEERS

B

_________________
"If you think you can, or if you think you can't, you are probably right"

Henry Ford


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: First game queries
PostPosted: Thu Dec 08, 2011 11:07 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Dec 14, 2010 8:39 pm
Posts: 5
Location: Stratford-upon-Avon
Brilliant, that's extemely helpful thank you.

Looking forward to playing it again, now just need the painitng fairies to finish my army as well...


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 3 posts ] 

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group