Questions re Charging mechanic

Any questions relating to Beneath the Lily Banners rule system.
Post Reply
Schomberg
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 20
Joined: Sat Aug 17, 2019 8:55 am

Questions re Charging mechanic

Post by Schomberg » Mon Aug 19, 2019 5:23 pm

Hi guys, new to the boards and fairly new to this rather excellent rules system. Although I have played in several tester games at our club, there are a few things which we are not entirely comfortable with. I hope that the other members can help out with the benefits of their knowledge and experience and confirm whether the examples I have shown are correct in their interpretation and answer the question at the end of the final example.

Charging against countercharging Horse.

A Squadron of Schomberg’s Horse receive a Charge order. They must immediately take a Morale Test to commence the Charge, which they pass. Fourteen inches away, a squadron of Tyrconnel’s Horse have a Form order but their commander declares a Countercharge upon seeing their opponents intention.

Schomberg’s Horse immediately move forward 4 inches, following a D6 roll.

The remaining distance between the two units of Horse is ten inches. Providing they both make their morale checks to ‘charge home’, they will meet at the mid point of five inches and Tyrconnel’s riders will be regarded as charging also because they have moved more then three inches.

Combat ensues with Tyrconnell’s horse disadvantaged only because of their Disorder.

If Tyrconnell’s men had failed their initial Morale Test, then they could not launch the Counter charge and would not be able to revert to their initial plan to Form from Disorder. Schomberg’s riders would then have the remaining 10 inches of their move to charge home hitting their opponents who would be Disordered and at the halt, assuming that they passed Morale to charge home.

Of course, after the countercharge commences, it is entirely possible that both sides might fail Morale to charge home. In this event the two squadrons stop dead in their tracks, in their present positions and are Disordered.

In the event that Schomberg’s squadron fails it’s Morale to charge home, the charge stumbles to a halt after four inches. Tyrconnell’s squadron, having passed both tests crash home and Schomberg’s men receive the charge at the halt.

In the final example, are Schomberg’s squadron Disordered when Tyrconnell’s launch their successful countercharge?
User avatar
obriendavid
General of the Army
General of the Army
Posts: 2557
Joined: Thu Jan 27, 2005 3:41 pm
Location: Scotland
Contact:

Re: Questions re Charging mechanic

Post by obriendavid » Mon Aug 19, 2019 5:51 pm

There is no reason for either unit to test to charge home that test is only taken if the charging unit has received shooting casualties from the unit being charged.
Schomberg
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 20
Joined: Sat Aug 17, 2019 8:55 am

Re: Questions re Charging mechanic

Post by Schomberg » Mon Aug 19, 2019 6:15 pm

Ah, thank you. That makes matters a lot less complicated.
Schomberg
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 20
Joined: Sat Aug 17, 2019 8:55 am

Re: Questions re Charging mechanic

Post by Schomberg » Mon Aug 19, 2019 6:53 pm

Moved to new topic
Post Reply