Unit Sizes?

A board for questions and discussion relating to Clarence Harrison's ECW focused rules which are growing in popularity. Please post here for questions and discussion relating to VWQ
rsk112

Unit Sizes?

Post by rsk112 » Wed Nov 30, 2016 7:34 pm

Hello, I am fairly new to the period but have played a few games of this game recently and something is confusing me right now, unit sizes. We played with cavalry of 2 stands and 3 horse each, so 6 total. But on a few of the battle reports I have seen online, cavalry seems to be 4 stands, 2 in front 2 in back. Can cavalry be different sizes? How does this formation of 4 stands affect the number of attack dice and durability? Or am I mistaking 2 close units of cavalry as 1 larger unit?
itchysama
Private
Private

Re: Unit Sizes?

Post by itchysama » Thu Dec 01, 2016 2:42 pm

Hi rsk112! Welcome to gaming ECW and VWQ!

While not the "expert" on VWQ, I can give you what we do in our VWQ games. While we are not "100%" official VWQ rules as written (I know that phrase will drive Clarence nuts :wink: ) we have tweaked the rules a bit to give us the style of play we enjoy. And it seems to bring about historical outcomes A LOT!

On to your questions.
"Can cavalry be different sizes?"
Yes. We have horse regiments "TYPICALLY" with of 2 squadrons, with 2 stands in each squadron. We have had (due to the OOB from the original battle) smaller regiments of a single squadron (2 stands) of horse as well. We have also had a maximum of 4 squadrons for very large regiments of horse. But we always have keep the squadron size as 2 stands.

We use Robert Giglio's books (VERY RECOMMENDED) ECW OOBs from battles/scenarios to put together our armies/battles. Lots of great stuff there.

The number of cavalry figures on the stand is more as you desire, but we typically base them 2 or 3 to a stand.
"How does this formation of 4 stands affect the number of attack dice and durability?"