Nassau-Saarbrucken-Ottweiler flag, 1690

A section devoted to questions and answers for this period.
Gary
Private First Class
Private First Class

Nassau-Saarbrucken-Ottweiler flag, 1690

Post by Gary » Tue Oct 04, 2011 11:25 pm

Hi all,

I am very new to this period and have chosen the War in Ireland as my entry point (I will save my usual Austrian project for later).

I am slowly working through various units based around those at the Boyne and have read that the Dutch N-S-O unit was brigaded with the English unit belonging to Hanmer and the Dutch Brandenburg unit.

I have painted both Hanmer's and Brandenburg, but have so far drawn a blank on the flags for the N-S-O. Can anyone help?
I am not too fussy about conjecture, having used this along with a few indistinct sources for my 3 Huguenots regiments, but would ideally like some sort of "most likely" if not definitive detail.

Thanks in advance,
Gary
Friedrich August I.
General of the Army
General of the Army

Re: Nassau-Saarbrucken-Ottweiler flag, 1690

Post by Friedrich August I. » Wed Oct 05, 2011 5:06 am

Hi Gary,

I found this in a swift search. It's a german group but timeframe is about 1745. Maybe one of them understands english and can dig the flag out from the date you are looking for :?:

http://www.infanterieregiment-ottweiler ... essum.html

On that specific page scroll down on the right you will see a flag.

Hope that helps

Cheers

Günter
„Macht Euch Euren Dregg alleene“

"Sort your filth out by yourself!" The King of Saxony Friedrich August III., at his abdication 1918, referred to the quarrels in the parliament and the squabbling within the provisional government.
Gary
Private First Class
Private First Class

Post by Gary » Wed Oct 05, 2011 11:04 pm

Gunter

Vielen Dank!

I left a message in (very poor) German on their guestbook, so hopefully they will understand my query and be able to help.

Thanks again,

Gary
john_de_courcy
Sergeant Major
Sergeant Major