BLB 3 Charging retreating unit question

Any questions relating to Beneath the Lily Banners rule system.
Post Reply
Gordon Hazelton
Private
Private
Posts: 11
Joined: Thu Dec 22, 2016 6:36 pm

BLB 3 Charging retreating unit question

Post by Gordon Hazelton » Sun Dec 02, 2018 7:35 pm

After another excellent game using these rules a question occurred that we couldn't work out from the rules.

A unit is in retreat and charged by a squadron of horse meaning in takes a morale test upon being charged. If it gets a shaken or pass result does it then cease being a unit in retreat and will then fight, obviously with its back to the enemy. We assume if it gets a retreat result it will continue to try and run away which in our situation was a better outcome than being hit in the rear. The rules also state that a unit in retreat cannot fight. What happens if contacted by the enemy? Does it just take the combat result without shaking any dice?
User avatar
flick40
Major General
Major General
Posts: 534
Joined: Wed Sep 09, 2009 10:24 pm
Location: Kansas City , Mo
Contact:

Re: BLB 3 Charging retreating unit question

Post by flick40 » Wed Dec 05, 2018 5:41 am

It's not really covered in the rules Gordon. My take would be as follows.

First the charging horse has to pass morale to charge.

Retreat and routing units are not interested in sticking around so ignore the rule that they have to check morale and move to (pg 70) 1/4 increments to see if contact is made. If yes then retreating units do not fight back, routed units are destroyed.

Alternatively they check morale and if passed can attempt to turn 1 stand to face if the charging unit is over 1/2 a charge move away.

I don't feel that a retreating unit should be allowed to use the morale check for being charged as a rally check to regain morale. i.e. they should not get a better result than they have already.

Arguments can be made either way. You just have to make a call in the heat of the battle as they say to keep the game rolling. Barry may have other ideas how he feels this situation should be handled based on his designs.

Thanks Joe
"Is that your opinion or the game masters ruling?"
User avatar
Adam Hayes
Lieutenant Colonel
Lieutenant Colonel
Posts: 275
Joined: Fri Oct 19, 2007 2:26 pm
Location: Brentwood, UK

Re: BLB 3 Charging retreating unit question

Post by Adam Hayes » Sat Dec 08, 2018 10:23 am

We have certainly played it the first way round and it always feels a bit harsh on the infantry. A morale check to see if they (sensibly) turn and defend themselves would be a likely reaction as a retreat isnt supposed to be as bad as a rout.
Gordon Hazelton
Private
Private
Posts: 11
Joined: Thu Dec 22, 2016 6:36 pm

Re: BLB 3 Charging retreating unit question

Post by Gordon Hazelton » Wed Dec 12, 2018 8:28 pm

Thanks for your comments. As per your replies I do think the rules are ambiguous on this. Barry could you let us know what your intention in the rules are?
Post Reply