First posting an a Sequence question

A board for questions and discussion relating to Clarence Harrison's ECW focused rules which are growing in popularity. Please post here for questions and discussion relating to VWQ
Post Reply
pogo
Private
Private
Posts: 15
Joined: Tue Jun 21, 2011 11:44 am

First posting an a Sequence question

Post by pogo » Thu Mar 28, 2013 2:28 pm

Have discovered these rules thru the net
My first outings in ECW were George Gush rules and DBR 1.0 in 15mm
A few years ago i started to paint Warlord 28MM plastics and have an army ready (240 inf, 60 cav, 2 art)
In the club we already tried WECW and Pike & Shot, not completely satisfied with either
So now for something completely different
Trying to make sense of the playing sequence

you make the stack of cards as described in the rules -> no problem there
you draw a card and activate unit/brigade/c-in-c -> no problem there
now what ?
their is no explicit shoot order ?
can the unit you activated now fire if within range ? (move and shoot or standstill and shoot ?)
if you activate the brigadire can all units in his range move/shoot ?
do enemy respond or they just take the fire and wait for their card ?
is it correct that the same unit can get 4 consecutive activations by extreme luck ? (unit card, brigadire card and in range, c-in-c card and in range, event card)

just trying to make sense of the different approach (Toto, I've a feeling we're not in Kansas anymore)

Alex
User avatar
quindia
General
General
Posts: 1255
Joined: Tue Jan 18, 2005 4:51 am
Location: Chesapeake, VA USA
Contact:

Re: First posting an a Sequence question

Post by quindia » Sat Mar 30, 2013 2:35 am

Sorry - just saw this... I will respond in detail tomorrow... :D
User avatar
quindia
General
General
Posts: 1255
Joined: Tue Jan 18, 2005 4:51 am
Location: Chesapeake, VA USA
Contact:

Re: First posting an a Sequence question

Post by quindia » Mon Apr 15, 2013 2:10 pm

Ok. When you draw a card from the deck, the activated unit may execute an order and this will determine what kind of action it makes to some degree. A unit with HOLD orders makes no movement. A unit with MOVE orders cannot charge into combat, etc. However, you are correct that there is no shoot order. Units with any order may shoot when activated. The exception to this is the CHARGE order because all movement should be done before shooting and units declaring a charge will not be able to fire.

Any officer card allows you to issue orders to ONE unit, not every unit in range.

Enemy units may fight in close combat when charged, but do not get to return fire until their card comes up in the deck.

It is entirely possible that one unit can get multiple actions in a turn through a combination of that unit's card and officer cards. However, you will also find the reverse to be true. Sometimes a unit card proves elusive and you will need to use your officer cards to move reticent units to support your more motivated troops!

Example: a brigade of three units of horse is deployed on a flank with their brigadier. Unit A's card comes up and the player advances the unit. Then the brigadier's card comes up and the player decides to advance Unit A again. The the C-in-C's card comes up. Certainly he may move Unit A again if he is in range, maybe to try and take advantage of an opening in the enemy formation, but what about the rest of his brigade? Will Unit A move beyond command range or will the brigadier move out of range from the rest of the unit? Where are the enemy? Unit A might be on their own against superior numbers.

Example: a brigade of foot are deployed in a line. Unit A fires it's muskets. When the brigadier's card is drawn it makes little sense to issue another order to Unit A unless you want them to advance or change formation because they will shoot at a disadvantage unless the Reload card has come up. You will be far better off to issue an order to another unit in the brigade.

Hope this helps - I know the rules are - bones, but I hope to rectify this in the future...
pogo
Private
Private
Posts: 15
Joined: Tue Jun 21, 2011 11:44 am

Re: First posting an a Sequence question

Post by pogo » Mon Apr 15, 2013 6:05 pm

Hi Clarence,

thanks for the response, makes the sequence much clearer

now only to convince my fellow ECW club member for a game, and probably some more questions will pop up then :)

Alex
Post Reply