Rebasing Highlander question

Help related to anything in the gaming world
Post Reply
User avatar
kippax
Staff Sergeant
Staff Sergeant
Posts: 58
Joined: Wed Jan 14, 2009 5:59 pm
Location: Altrincham,Manchester,UK
Contact:

Rebasing Highlander question

Post by kippax » Sun Jun 12, 2011 8:39 pm

Hello All
Looking at rebasing my three front rank Highlander regiments.
42nd,79th & 92nd
I had them on 50x40 mdf boards but due to some slight damage to there brown bessies
I was hoping i could use a larger base size if possible for most rules,
as i dont want to keep rebasing for different games.
Would 60mm frontage with 70mm width be ok ? or 60x60 be more exceptable.?

Regards
Andrew
"Stupid Boy"
User avatar
barr7430
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5848
Joined: Tue Jan 04, 2005 4:22 pm
Location: EK,Scotland
Contact:

Re: Rebasing Highlander question

Post by barr7430 » Sun Jun 12, 2011 8:55 pm

Andrew,

most of my stuff is 60mm deep (i think you described this as width).. look in the GALLERY for R2E units. as far as width is concerned(for me that means frontage) I like 15mm per figure but for the larger FR models this may not be possible so 20mm frontage per model would put 6 models on a 60 x 60mm base. I use 45 x 60 and 60 x 60 as you will notice... main rule is always PROTECT THE BAYONETS!
"If you think you can, or if you think you can't, you are probably right"

Henry Ford
User avatar
kiwipeterh
Lieutenant Colonel
Lieutenant Colonel
Posts: 212
Joined: Thu Mar 10, 2005 11:31 pm
Location: Wellington, New Zealand
Contact:

Re: Rebasing Highlander question

Post by kiwipeterh » Tue Jun 14, 2011 5:58 am

barr7430 wrote:... main rule is always PROTECT THE BAYONETS!
I couldn't agree more. If I have a wargaming mantra, OK one of my wargaming mantras :roll: , is 'no overhangs of figures over bases'. It's all about safe wargaming ... for the figures anyway! :lol:

Of course I've yet to model a pike army!! :shock:

Salute
von Peter himself
Visit the blog of von Peter himself at http://vonpeterhimself.wordpress.com/
Churchill
General
General
Posts: 1519
Joined: Sat Feb 02, 2008 11:49 pm

Re: Rebasing Highlander question

Post by Churchill » Tue Jun 14, 2011 7:38 am

Ray.
Last edited by Churchill on Fri Feb 28, 2014 3:23 pm, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
CoffinDodger
Lieutenant General
Lieutenant General
Posts: 866
Joined: Wed Sep 16, 2009 7:10 pm
Location: Motherwell, Scotland.
Contact:

Re: Rebasing Highlander question

Post by CoffinDodger » Tue Jun 14, 2011 5:52 pm

kiwipeterh wrote: ...Of course I've yet to model a pike army!! :shock:
Salute
von Peter himself
Hi Peter,

The may sound like stating the bleeding obvious but I keep all my pikes vertical. The only drawback to that is that I occasionally impale myself on them.

Jim
Last edited by CoffinDodger on Wed Jul 27, 2011 6:30 pm, edited 1 time in total.
“I can assure you, Gentlefolk, they look better from a distance."
Jim O'Neill.
User avatar
kippax
Staff Sergeant
Staff Sergeant
Posts: 58
Joined: Wed Jan 14, 2009 5:59 pm
Location: Altrincham,Manchester,UK
Contact:

Re: Rebasing Highlander question

Post by kippax » Fri Jun 17, 2011 7:52 am

Thanks guys
Will be off now to rebase and protect them bayonets..
"Stupid Boy"
User avatar
Duke of Plaza-Toro
Lieutenant Colonel
Lieutenant Colonel
Posts: 280
Joined: Sat May 31, 2008 5:18 am
Location: Australia
Contact:

Re: Rebasing Highlander question

Post by Duke of Plaza-Toro » Fri Jun 17, 2011 11:56 am

Hmmmm... interesting user name Kippax.

And I see you hail from Manchester...

:wink:
In enterprise of martial kind, When there was any fighting, He led his regiment from behind -
He found it less exciting.

http://worldcrisisinminiature.wordpress.com/
User avatar
kippax
Staff Sergeant
Staff Sergeant
Posts: 58
Joined: Wed Jan 14, 2009 5:59 pm
Location: Altrincham,Manchester,UK
Contact:

Re: Rebasing Highlander question

Post by kippax » Fri Jun 17, 2011 12:19 pm

Duke of Plaza-Toro wrote:Hmmmm... interesting user name Kippax.

And I see you hail from Manchester...

:wink:
Yes and Manchester is Blue
"Stupid Boy"
User avatar
Duke of Plaza-Toro
Lieutenant Colonel
Lieutenant Colonel
Posts: 280
Joined: Sat May 31, 2008 5:18 am
Location: Australia
Contact:

Re: Rebasing Highlander question

Post by Duke of Plaza-Toro » Sat Jun 18, 2011 3:05 am

:D

It most certainly is!

(OK - back to toy soldiers...)
In enterprise of martial kind, When there was any fighting, He led his regiment from behind -
He found it less exciting.

http://worldcrisisinminiature.wordpress.com/
Gunfreak
Lieutenant General
Lieutenant General
Posts: 825
Joined: Wed Aug 25, 2010 10:35 am
Contact:

Re: Rebasing Highlander question

Post by Gunfreak » Thu Jun 23, 2011 3:24 pm

Beeing short of space, I use either 50x50 mm with 8 figures or 45x40mm with 6 figures.

The problem I found with 50x50 and 8 figures pr. base is that 24 figures which most of my 28mm are, you only get 3 bases, and it looks wrong, you can't do a square of column with 3 bases, so all my 24 figure units are now based 6 and 6 on 45x40mm.

My cav is based 60x60mm with 3 hores and troppers pr. base.
User avatar
Adam Hayes
Lieutenant Colonel
Lieutenant Colonel
Posts: 296
Joined: Fri Oct 19, 2007 2:26 pm
Location: Brentwood, UK

Re: Rebasing Highlander question

Post by Adam Hayes » Tue Jul 26, 2011 10:51 pm

Gunfreak wrote:Beeing short of space, I use either 50x50 mm with 8 figures or 45x40mm with 6 figures.

The problem I found with 50x50 and 8 figures pr. base is that 24 figures which most of my 28mm are, you only get 3 bases, and it looks wrong, you can't do a square of column with 3 bases, so all my 24 figure units are now based 6 and 6 on 45x40mm.

My cav is based 60x60mm with 3 hores and troppers pr. base.
whores and trappers? Best hunting trip evah! :D
Juan Mancheño
Sergeant Major
Sergeant Major
Posts: 98
Joined: Wed Dec 30, 2009 5:59 pm
Location: Granada España

Re: Rebasing Highlander question

Post by Juan Mancheño » Thu Jul 28, 2011 6:27 am

Gunfreak, you make the most with the space on the bases!!!
I am using, at the moment, 60 x 60mm bases for my Front Rank NYW Infantry. There are not bayonets, arms, swords, etc, hanging and the stand looks great. About the Cavalry, I think I´m going to put them (Front Rank models) two in a 50 x 60mm stand.

As Ray has suggested, place your figures on a cardboard base and "play" with them (especially with the most dynamics of them).

Cheers,

Juan
Der Alte Fritz
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 28
Joined: Tue May 04, 2010 7:11 pm
Location: Hesse Seewald

Re: Rebasing Highlander question

Post by Der Alte Fritz » Wed Sep 26, 2012 7:03 pm

Does anyone have a problem with two different units in an army having the same frontage, but the "firing line" posed unit has a deeper base than the "marching line" posed unit in order to protect the bayonets?

I'm thinking that the depth doesn't matter that much as long as the frontage is the same for both/all units in the game. :idea:

What do you think?
User avatar
kiwipeterh
Lieutenant Colonel
Lieutenant Colonel
Posts: 212
Joined: Thu Mar 10, 2005 11:31 pm
Location: Wellington, New Zealand
Contact:

Re: Rebasing Highlander question

Post by kiwipeterh » Sat Sep 29, 2012 9:09 pm

I don't as this is exactly what I have done. It hasn't been an issue for anyone that I have played against ... at least that they have admitted to!! :lol:

Salute
von Peter himself
Visit the blog of von Peter himself at http://vonpeterhimself.wordpress.com/
Post Reply