Rules question.

Dedicated to skirmishing with DONNYBROOK the new set of rules created by Clarence and Barry. Information on the rules, queries on play, battle reports, faction info, new ideas, painting tips, scenarios and chat for skirmish-adventure gaming 1660-1760.
Post Reply
Darkman
Major
Major
Posts: 185
Joined: Thu Jun 19, 2008 9:10 am
Location: Gloucester UK

Rules question.

Post by Darkman » Sat Feb 01, 2014 9:24 am

When a characters card is turned over in turn 1 he can take an action. Then unit A's card turns over and then they can take an action. If the characters action is to join Unit A, they all they can do in their action is fire or charge.

In the next turn If the character wants to take an action with the unit then he will have to wait until the unit card is turned over. Is that right.

e.g he wants to charge an enemy unit but not get caught charging on his own.

Why do bows have such a short range. Not really a rules question just interested in the thoughts behind it. Did you try same range as muskets better save?

Steve
User avatar
obriendavid
General of the Army
General of the Army
Posts: 2581
Joined: Thu Jan 27, 2005 3:41 pm
Location: Scotland
Contact:

Re: Rules question.

Post by obriendavid » Sat Feb 01, 2014 12:07 pm

Darkman wrote: Why do bows have such a short range. Not really a rules question just interested in the thoughts behind it. Did you try same range as muskets better save? Steve
Bows can move and shoot, unlike muskets and don't have to wait for the reload card to come up, unlike muskets so to give them the same range as muskets would make them too powerful. Some guys in the playtest groups still think they are too powerful.
Cheers
Dave
User avatar
obriendavid
General of the Army
General of the Army
Posts: 2581
Joined: Thu Jan 27, 2005 3:41 pm
Location: Scotland
Contact:

Re: Rules question.

Post by obriendavid » Sat Feb 01, 2014 12:13 pm

Darkman wrote: In the next turn If the character wants to take an action with the unit then he will have to wait until the unit card is turned over. Is that right.
e.g he wants to charge an enemy unit but not get caught charging on his own. Steve
If he wants to charge with the unit he will have to wait for the unit card to come up, when we were originally playtesting the rules we did allow units to charge when a character card came up but we then changed the effects that characters had on units. I'm sure Clarence can add more detail.
Cheers
Dave
User avatar
quindia
General
General
Posts: 1257
Joined: Tue Jan 18, 2005 4:51 am
Location: Chesapeake, VA USA
Contact:

Re: Rules question.

Post by quindia » Sat Feb 01, 2014 1:28 pm

Ok, let me break this down...

Character on his own at start of turn...
Obviously a solo character acts on his own card. If the character wants to attach to a unit when his card is drawn he must be able to end his move within 2" of a model from the unit. If the unit is in close order, he may be placed in close order (even if this means moving more than his allotment... he just must END his move within 2" of the unit). If he joins a unit, the character may not shoot or charge on his card, but passive abilities (like a Preacher or Bard) affect the joined unit immediately.

If the unit acted BEFORE the character joined there is no issue. If the unit card comes up in the same turn AFTER the character joined, they cannot move as they were busy standing about waiting for the character. However, they CAN shoot and CAN charge and now the character may do so as well.

Character is attached at start of turn...
If the character card comes up first in the turn and the character wishes to REMAIN with the unit, he does not move, shoot, or charge. He will act on the unit card. If the character card comes up first in the turn and the character wishes to LEAVE the unit, simply move the character on his own and shoot or charge as desired.

If the unit card comes up first in the turn the character acts with the unit. If the character card comes up later in the same turn and the character wishes to leave the unit, simply place the character 3" away from the unit, but take no further actions. The character is considered to be unattached for the rest of turn. At the start of the next turn, the character acts on his own card as above.

Notes
Characters do not need to test for morale as they are made of stern stuff, but an attached character is subject to the morale failures of a unit to which he is attached. If a unit routs ALL attached characters are removed with the unit. Independent characters may join or leave a Shaken unit as detailed above. Characters who MUST be attached to units (an Ensign or Drummer for instance) may not leave a Shaken unit.

If a character who MUST be attached to a unit manages to be the sole surviving member of a unit, he is considered independent and then acts on his own card, but must immediately attempt to move to join the closest friendly unit.

Characters on foot may not join mounted units, but a mounted character may join foot units.

Hope that helps! Please keep the questions coming!
Darkman
Major
Major
Posts: 185
Joined: Thu Jun 19, 2008 9:10 am
Location: Gloucester UK

Re: Rules question.

Post by Darkman » Sat Feb 01, 2014 7:41 pm

So characters like the ensign and drummer would not have a card in the deck as they cannot move on their own.
User avatar
quindia
General
General
Posts: 1257
Joined: Tue Jan 18, 2005 4:51 am
Location: Chesapeake, VA USA
Contact:

Re: Rules question.

Post by quindia » Sat Feb 01, 2014 9:39 pm

I still include cards for all attached characters simply because I name all of my characters, but yes you probably don't have to include them.
User avatar
obriendavid
General of the Army
General of the Army
Posts: 2581
Joined: Thu Jan 27, 2005 3:41 pm
Location: Scotland
Contact:

Re: Rules question.

Post by obriendavid » Sun Feb 02, 2014 6:18 pm

Darkman wrote:So characters like the ensign and drummer would not have a card in the deck as they cannot move on their own.
As Clarence has already mentioned it's better to have a card for each character even the ones attached to units as should they be the sole survivors you will need their card in action to get them to move to new units.
Cheers
Dave
Post Reply