Figure Base Thickness?

A section devoted to questions and answers for this period.
Anonymous

Figure Base Thickness?

Post by Anonymous » Fri Nov 02, 2007 4:21 pm

I am about to order Plywood Bases from Litko and was unsure whether to buy the 3mm or 1.5mm thickness. I will be mounting 6 figures per base as per the ULB rules and dressing the bases like Brian Phillips stunning regiments. I have never done this before but I thought I might as well aim high!

So, should I buy 3mm or 1.5mm thickness?
JMTS

Post by JMTS » Fri Nov 02, 2007 4:54 pm

I use 2mm MDF ones from ERM for 15mm figures. I'd be wary of 1.5mm especially if I was using 25s/28s. I don't think 3mm would be a problem, except you need to think how you deal with the edge. (but on 3mm there may be enough depth to have clear marks of colour as unit markers/identifiers at the rear)
Jeremy M.T. Sutcliffe
Wargaming for 30years +
barr7430
Site Admin
Site Admin

Post by barr7430 » Fri Nov 02, 2007 7:09 pm

Don't go for the thinner bases on 28mm figures. If you want to get the base texture like Brian you'll need to apply considerable amounts of 'stuff' which, when it dries will create contraction stresses which in turn could warp even 3mm if you put on too much or make it too -. Even dry media such as Milliput can warp 3mm if applied too thick.

I'd go 3mm, glue figs in position on base, milliput around their bases and then when dry run a thin coat of PVA glue across entire base. Spinkle on fine sand, allow to dry and then paint. 8)
"If you think you can, or if you think you can't, you are probably right"

Henry Ford
Bluebear
Lieutenant Colonel
Lieutenant Colonel

Post by Bluebear » Sun Nov 04, 2007 7:31 am

I've always preferred thicker bases to thinner ones for a couple of reasons.