DONNYBROOK

A section devoted to questions and answers for this period.
quindia
General
General

DONNYBROOK

Post by quindia » Mon May 27, 2013 1:30 pm

Donnybrook \ˈdä- nē- ˌbruk\ noun, often capitalized – 1. A brawl or fracas; free-for-all, 2. A scene of chaos
Origin: A suburb of Dublin and the site of the Donnybrook Fair, an annual Irish event known for its brawls...

I have been very busy of late working on a new set of rules, this time as an author as well as an artist. These are based on an engine I've been using for games at my house for the last ten years and have used it with everything from Warhammer Fantasy models to 19th century Colonial adventures in Africa. The published version will be called Donnybrook and will be focused on 1660-1760, but if all goes well I could see publishing versions for other periods.

The rules are based on a card driven turn system. At a minimum, a force for a small game consists of one Character and four Units. The Character represents YOU on the table top. The Unit sizes range from four foot or three mounted models to twelve foot or nine mounted models, depending on their quality. Standard size games use six Units and large games use eight. There are eight factions to choose from - Army, Civilian Mob, Covenanters, Cultists, Highlanders, Outlaws, Rapparees, and Tribal. There are optional rules for including additional Characters (one per Unit) and these models come with various abilities to influence the performance of your army - most are unique to your chosen faction.

There will be much more news on this subject, but to start off there will be eleven days of puzzle pieces of the cover art, culminating with the final full cover on the twelfth day...

conflans
Sergeant Major
Sergeant Major

Re: DONNYBROOK

Post by conflans » Mon May 27, 2013 5:12 pm

A puzzle to be revealed. I like it!

Conflans
quindia
General
General

Post by quindia » Tue May 28, 2013 4:16 am

Friedrich August I.
General of the Army
General of the Army